Natural Balance

Natural Balance scores well on the rubric, with sensitivity risk the consistent strength.

The verdict

Should you feed Natural Balance?

Natural Balance runs 2 scored products on PetScored, averaging a 7.5 composite. The top-scoring recipe is Limited Ingredient Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe at 7.6.

Across the lineup, Sensitivity Risk is the strongest sub-score (9.5); Brand Trust is the weakest (6.2).

Brand Trust signals are still on a seed score; verification work is in progress.

FDA matching is partial. Without a complete export we do not credit a clean record.

If your dog avoids common trigger ingredients, the lineup carries these label flags: chicken, legumes, fish, yeast. Sub-score weighting handles them on each individual scorecard.

Parent company
Natural Balance Pet Foods
Manufacturer
Natural Balance Pet Foods
Country
United States
Transparency
Medium
Scoring path
seed score during review

Transparency at a glance

What we can verify about Natural Balance.

Five signals our rubric weights most for Brand Trust. Each is sourced and dated in the evidence record below. Unknown is not treated as false- it’s recorded as “not publicly disclosed.”

0of 5 verified
  1. Owns its manufacturing

    Brand has not publicly disclosed whether it owns its primary plant.

  2. Named qualified nutritionist

    Brand mentions nutrition expertise but does not name a qualified individual.

  3. AAFCO feeding trials

    Feeding-trial protocol status not publicly disclosed.

  4. Publishes research

    Research-publication record not publicly disclosed.

  5. No FDA recall in 5 years

    Recall record not fully verified against the FDA archive.

Brand Trust verification

Signal-by-signal evidence record.

Verified records replace the product-level seed Brand Trust score. Pending and conflicted records stay visible as context; unknown is not treated as false.

partially verifiedseed score during review11 unknown0 conflictLast checked 2026-10-06

Named qualified nutritionist

Natural Balance says its customer care team is made up of Registered Veterinary Technicians and provides calcium/phosphorus on the product panel, but that does not verify a named qualified nutritionist or complete nutrient analysis.

unknown

Owns or operates primary manufacturing

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Current feeding-trial evidence

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Peer-reviewed research

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Complete nutrient analysis

Natural Balance says its customer care team is made up of Registered Veterinary Technicians and provides calcium/phosphorus on the product panel, but that does not verify a named qualified nutritionist or complete nutrient analysis.

unknown

No FDA recall in past 5 years

Official FDA firm-issued recall archive, current as of 2026-04-13, matched 6,582 rows against Natural Balance terms. Manual disposition found a May 2021 Natural Balance dry cat formula recall, inside the five-year window when checked in April 2026 but more than five years before October 6, 2026. FDA company announcement dated May 20, 2021 identifies a Natural Balance L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula recall for possible Salmonella contamination and states no other Natural Balance products were impacted.

unknown

No FDA Class I recall ever

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Country-of-origin sourcing

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Same ownership for 10+ years

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Active FDA warning letter

Official FDA warning-letter export, content current as of 2026-04-28, checked 1,000 rows with zero Natural Balance matches.

unknown

Cannot identify qualified nutritionist

No source record captured yet.

unknown
Source needed

Products

Public-beta products in this brand profile.

PetScored may earn a commission on purchases through tagged links at no extra cost to you. Affiliate revenue does not affect any score on this page. Affiliate disclosure ›

Appears in

PetScored best-for lists this brand is on

All best-for lists ›

Regulatory context

FDA matching stays visible after launch.

Manual disposition found five brand-relevant historical Natural Balance recalls, the newest a May 2021 L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken dry cat formula Salmonella recall, which was inside the five-year archive window when reviewed in April 2026 and aged out of it on May 20, 2026. No brand-relevant recall dated on or after 2021-10-06 was found in the firm-press-release series, which has no 2023 rows and omits enforcement-report-only recalls, so this is not a certified-clean record.

Checked 1,000 row(s), but --full-export was not provided. 0 ambiguous candidate row(s) were auto-dismissed. Active-warning-letter status remains unknown until full export/archive coverage is available.

Full recall history, dated ›

Recall status
conflict
Recall rows
6582
Recall matches
5
Recall source
FDA Firm-Issued Recalls Data Sets
Warning status
export match pending
Warning rows
1000
Warning matches
0
Warning source
FDA Warning Letters

FAQ

About Natural Balance

Is Natural Balance dog food any good?

Natural Balance averages 7.5 out of 10 across 2 scored products. The top-scoring recipe is Limited Ingredient Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe at 7.6. Whether that's "good" depends on which sub-score matters most for your dog - see the brand page for the full verdict and the per-product strengths and watch-outs.

Has Natural Balance been recalled recently?

Recall matching is still in progress for Natural Balance. We do not credit a clean record until a complete export has been reviewed.

Who owns Natural Balance?

Natural Balance is owned by Natural Balance Pet Foods. The bag is manufactured by Natural Balance Pet Foods and the recipe references United States for sourcing. Brand Trust signals for manufacturer control and ownership tenure are visible on the brand profile.

Does Natural Balance pay PetScored for its score?

No. PetScored takes zero manufacturer money - no paid placements, no sponsored rankings, no free-product review programs. Affiliate links on retail-purchase actions are disclosed and never affect scores. See /trust for the full posture.